Google Chrome OS – my thoughts

A while back Google announced an operating system called Chrome OS. It looks really good (even though I’m a Bing fan). You can access the website here and view the guided tour below.

It will be interesting to see how popular web only computers are. Here are some of the obvious (to me) points about Chrome OS:

  • If you’re not in a Wi-Fi/3G zone, you’re doomed. No offline access at all.
  • It’s all Google. What if you need to use Microsoft Word instead of Google Docs?
  • You need a Google account.
  • It seems secure, but one clever hacker could destroy your computer life.
  • Only Google Chrome. What about if there’s a website best viewed in Internet Explorer?
  • There is a store, but there will be a lot of apps not on Chrome OS.
  • Music? There’s no iTunes or Spotify!

What do you think? Will it fail?

4 thoughts on “Google Chrome OS – my thoughts

  1. While I love the Chrome web browser a Chrome OS does not appeal to me… For many reasons most of which you listed above. Its a total FAIL imo
    There are lots of services I use that aren’t google based (iTunes, Tweetdeck, iPhoto, iChat, etc.) and I can’t imagine having to be online to be able to use my laptop….
    I’ll stick with my Mac :P

    • Recently Google have said they will provide limited offline support for Docs and Gmail, but that isn’t enough.

      I agree with the service and web point.

      One thing I didn’t put in the post which is an important point is web storage. Google Docs only provides 1GB of free space. People have more documents than that…

      Yes, stick with your Mac. And I’ll stick with Windows 7.

What's on your mind?

