When a post is ready to be published

My video source :-)

How do you decide when a post is ready to publish? The Daily Post is mad. We have to write about how we write. I’ll do my best…

I think the best way to answer the question is to show you the steps I do to write a post:

  1. Choose what the post is going to be about
  2. Figure out where to put it in the publish timetable – I ask myself whether it is time sensitive (does it talk about a particular date, like new year resolutions, or is it something that can be published anytime?), and whether it will get more readers sooner or later.
  3. I write the post. I rarely go through more than a few revisions.
  4. I find an image – usually using Bing Images or Wikipedia. Sometimes a video from YouTube.
  5. I spell check.
  6. I add tags and categories.
  7. Finally, it is ready to either publish or schedule.

Once those 7 steps have been completed, a post is ready to be put on the internet. If I follow those steps, a post is fine.

For all those bloggers out there: how do you decide when a post is ready to be published?

The logo of the best website ever

8 thoughts on “When a post is ready to be published

  1. For me a post is finished when it’s finished :P
    I rarely revise, I add the images as I go… I haven’t ever had any video (yet)

    The only thing I revise is grammar and spelling…

    From start to finish I usually post withing the hour…

  2. Pingback: TO BE DECIDED « M U I G A I

What's on your mind?

